ABOUT US

 

Schauraum für angewandte Kunst

SCHAURAUM FÜR ANGEWANDTE KUNST features “everyday things that are not everyday” – fashionable accessories, jewellery, furnishings and tableware. The design objects are selected on the basis of objective criteria such as innovation and originality, design and finish, and subjective criteria such as their emotional, inspiring radiance. Many of the designers whose products are displayed are internationally prestigious and have won multiple awards.

SCHAURAUM FÜR ANGEWANDTE KUNST is the exclusive distributor of the collections of austriandesign.at.

 

 

The owner

In 1997 Karin Merkl opened SCHAURAUM FÜR ANGEWANDTE KUNST, a gallery for contemporary art and design, in Vienna’s 7th District. Unique products in materials such as ceramics, metal, wood, glass and textiles, small series and prototypes created by artists and designers were displayed in joint exhibitions or theme-based group exhibitions.

In 2004 Karin Merkl began to market Austrian product design on the international stage, regularly taking part in trade fairs in Frankfurt and Hamburg. Schauraum für angewandte Kunst became a design agency and publisher. Many of the designers whose products are displayed are internationally prestigious and have won multiple awards. They include Judith Rataitz (A), Margareta Niel (A), tonfisk (Fin) and Jacqueline Guenot (F). During this period Karin Merkl designed a number of tableware and furnishing accessories under the label kmdesign.

Since 2006 Karin Merkl has been producing fashionable and stylish accessories under the label austriandesign.at. She specialises above all in designs related to the theme of the “scarf”. The basic rectangular form of the scarf is interpreted and modified in such a way that it becomes a reversible and highly versatile women’s fashion item. She says: „What fascinates me above all is the simple form of the rectangle and the scope it provides for questioning traditional design principles, discovering beauty in everyday things, and modifying what is familiar. Fabrics are ideal for this purpose!“

ABOUT US

Schauraum für angewandte Kunst

Der SCHAURAUM FÜR ANGEWANDTE KUNST zeigt „Dinge des Alltags, die nicht alltäglich sind“ – modische Accessoires, Schmuck, Wohn- und Tischkultur. Die Auswahl der Designobjekte erfolgt nach objektivierbaren Kriterien, wie Innovation und Originalität, Gestaltung und Ausführung und nach subjektiven, wobei ein wesentlicher Aspekt ihre emotionale, inspirierende Ausstrahlung ist. Viele der gezeigten Designer sind international anerkannt und mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

SCHAURAUM FÜR ANGEWANDTE KUNST vertreibt exklusiv die Kollektionen von austriandesign.at.

Die Eigentümerin

Karin Merkl eröffnete 1997 den SCHAURAUM FÜR ANGEWANDTE KUNST im 7. Bezirk in Wien, eine Galerie für zeitgenössisches Kunsthandwerk und Design. In Gemeinschaftsaustellungen oder themenbezogenen Gruppenausstellungen wurden Unikate, Kleinserien und Prototypen von Künstlern und Designer in den Materialien – Keramik, Metall, Holz, Glas, Textil gezeigt.

2004 begann Karin Merkl österreichisches Produktdesign international zu vermarkten und nahm auf Messen in Frankfurt und Hamburg regelmäßig teil. Der Schauraum für angewandte Kunst wurde zur Designagentur und zum Designverlag. Viele der vertretenen Designer sind international anerkannt und mehrfach ausgezeichnet: Judith Rataitz (A), Margareta Niel (A), tonfisk (Fin) oder Jacqueline Guenot (F). In dieser Zeit entwarf Karin Merkl unter dem label kmdesign einige Tisch- und Wohnaccessoires.

Seit 2006 entwirft Karin Merkl unter dem label austriandesign.at modische Accessoires. Es ist vor allem das Thema „Schal“ das sie interessiert. Den Schal, in seiner Grundform ein Rechteck, interpretiert und modifiziert sie so, dass er zum Bekleidungsstück, zur reversiblen und variierbaren Mode für Damen wird. „Vor allem diese einfache Form des Rechtecks, aber auch das genaue Hinsehen, tradierte Gestaltungsprinzipien zu hinterfragen, Schönheit im Alltäglichen finden, Gewohntes zu verändern: Das begeistert mich. Textiles ist dafür ein großartiges Material!“